A New Path

Image

 

Ah, back to the beginning.

I started Rebel a couple of years ago, after some major life changes led me to move back in with my parents at the age of 27 and go back to working in retail, despite having earned two Master’s degrees.  Trust me, few things humble you more than moving back in with mom and dad while all of your friends are getting married, buying houses, and having kids.

Since that time, I have moved to a different city (but I am, of course, eternally grateful to my parents for their kindness and support), gotten engaged, and gotten a job that I actually enjoy.  By all accounts, life is very good.  And yet…

Between undergrad, graduate school, and a car loan, I built up over $90,000 worth of debt.  Prior to a year or two ago, I thought that was completely normal.  Most people I know have student loan debt and a car loan.  I actually thought I was doing a good job, since I steer clear of credit card debt.  

When I moved, I had no job and quickly realized that my “normal” amount of debt was stifling my ability to live the life I wanted to.  Although I had saved up enough money to float me while I job-hunted, it was extremely disheartening to give my hard-earned money to the loan companies and yet, the balances never seemed to get lower (why hello, compound interest!  It’s not that great to meet you.)

About a year and a half ago, I made the decision that I was going to pay off my debt much, much faster than those darling loan companies wanted me to.  Since that decision, I’ve paid off over $30,000, on an average salary in the $35,000 per year range, leaving my balance a little over $60,000.  

In an effort to document my journey to zero, I tore down the original blog and now present you with the new Rebel Without a Dime.  

<<<Applause>>>  <<<Cheers>>> <<<A little more applause>>>

Here we go…

2 thoughts on “A New Path

Leave a Reply

